What do I want to be when I grow up?

So…I’m taking a lunch break and was surfing the internet for some good lunch time reads, and headed over to Self.com. I love that magazine! I’m a bit behind in my magazine reading these days, but I always enjoy the articles in there and the focus on your SELF! I tend to neglect to do that. My husband says I don’t know how to be selfish (I’m sure he’d much rather I be un-selfish than too selfish), but I’m trying to learn. Not in that “it’s all about me” way…but in the “I’m worth it and deserve to put myself first sometimes” way. So one of the articles was about Finding a Career You Care About. It’s articles like this that always make me ask myself “What do I want to be when I grow up?”

So, I should start by saying I’m 38 years old and have a great career as a Business Analyst. I currently have the luxury of working from home, enjoy the people I work with, am appreciated and respected by my peers, and understand that working in Information Technology comes with stress. I’m also very thankful for this job, especially considering the economy. (I recently read Jen Lancaster’s “Bitter is the New Black” and became fully aware of how easily the comforts of a well-paying job can escape you. More on Jen in another post – LOVE HER!)

But there are moments throughout my life that I wonder how I ended up down this career path because it was sort of on accident. After college I did some temp work, which got my foot in the door or a large corporation, which turned into a full-time position in the marketing department, which had me using all my Microsoft Excel skills, which allowed me to be recruited into IT as a developer, which ultimately landed me on the side of Business Analysis because I just needed to work with people more than the computers. So…what would I do if I could do anything I wanted to? If money didn’t matter (as the women in the Self article thought about) or if I won the lottery and could choose to spend my time doing something I love.

Having enjoyed math and science in school, I never knew what to do with it. I was NOT going to be a scientist or mathematician, which are the only careers I thought there were for people who were good in science or math. But now…looking back…it might have been fun to be an architect. Using all that knowledge of physics to design beautiful buildings. But I’m also fully aware that very few architects get to do the cool stuff. So…if I win the lottery…I would be so interested in taking some classes just to design my own home. How cool would that be?

I also know I enjoy working with kids. I was a preschool teacher right out of college, and LOVED being able to “play” all day for work. It’s hard work – don’t get me wrong – but it was so much fun to watch the kids growing and changing and absorbing the world. I’d definitely like to work with kids again in the future.

So…I don’t know yet what I want to be when I grow up, but I love how the world puts things in front of me to remind to think about that every now and again. One of these days, I hope to figure it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Blah Blah Blog Girl

I am a woman with lots to say. My brain provides continuous commentary on everything going on around me. And because my thoughts are so varied, no single person in my life wants to hear all of them. But I need to get them out of my head in hopes to slow down the spinning, the constant words, the blah blah blah.
This entry was posted in What I'm Reading, Work Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What do I want to be when I grow up?

  1. Julie says:

    What’s your degree in? I kinda landed in my current career sort of accidentally as well, and it’s been ok so far. Though if I won the lotto and never had to work, I would be a full time napper and book reader. How awesome would that be?

    • My degree is in Child Development. ๐Ÿ™‚ That was after starting as a Business Administration Major and then switching to Computer Science. Ultimately, the Child Development degree helps with deal with grown ups the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Julie says:

        heh, I started out in computer science and couldn’t do it, so switched to chemical engineering. it’s easier to get by without having something need to actually work lol.

Leave a Reply

