My Summer Reading List

I think Saturday mornings are my favorite time of week. The weekend has just started. I’m usually up before my husband (yep, he’s soundly snoozing away), so I get a little quiet time. The whole weekend is ahead of me and the possibilities are endless! And I also can look back on the week a little bit – usually just to be thankful that it’s over. Like today. Whew that was a long week!

This week marked the official first day of summer. For those of us living in Texas, it was just a reminder that it’s been HOT for a while now, and there is no end in sight. I’m fully prepared to stay hot and try not to whine too much for the next 3-4 months. But look out fall! I will appreciate you very differently this year!

With the beginning of summer, we turn our attention to thoughts of vacations and lounging. Which also means, summer reading!

I’ve fallen in love with reading again over the last couple years. There was a period in my adult life that reading just wasn’t a priority. But now, it’s a renewed source of relaxation and enjoyment. I like a variety of books, topics, and authors. I’m also really open to trying new books. Although, because I know there are so many good books out there I haven’t read yet, if a book doesn’t get me hooked in the first 25-50 pages, I put it down and move on with no regrets.

But for summer…summer is about trying to have fun, carefree days even though now I’m a grown up and have to work. I actually have quite a few friends who are teachers, and they are truly getting summer break. But since I work in the technology department for a company, we don’t get the luxury of summers off. So…my escape must come in the form of fun, lighthearted books. To get a small taste of what summers used to be like when we were kids.

This summer, I have the best reading list! It might seem singularly focused, but I know it’s going to be great! Mostly, it is the Summer of Jen Lancaster! (There are a couple other books thrown in for good measure – mostly so I can stay a member of the best book club ever.)

Yes, I know I’m late to the Jen Lancaster fan club. She has 5 books out now – yes, 5. That’s how lame I am at keeping up with what’s great and cool. But did I mention how many great books there are out in the world? And I usually take 1-2 weeks to finish a book. Not because I’m not a fast reader, but because I don’t make enough time to read. (You did read about my game addiction right?)

Anyway, Jen’s books are her memoirs told in the most honest, hysterical way. Okay – so I’ve only read one so far…but if the rest of her books are like that, I’m going to be hooked!

So…here’s the list of what is going in my purse/beach bag/Kindle App this summer:

Ummm…I just finished putting the list together and it’s HUGE! I’ve set up quite a goal for myself!

By Jen Lancaster:
Bitter is the New Black : Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass,Or, Why You Should Never Carry A Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office
(Have to admit I already read this, but wanted to count it as a summer book. :-))

Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl’s Guide to Why it Often Sucks in the City, or Who are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?

Such a Pretty Fat: One Narcissist’s Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, or Why Pie Is Not the Answer

Pretty in Plaid: A Life, A Witch, and a Wardrobe, or, the Wonder Years Before the Condescending,Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Phase

My Fair Lazy: One Reality Television Addict’s Attempt to Discover If Not Being A Dumb Ass Is the New Black, or, a Culture-Up Manifesto

By Madeleine Wickham (aka Sophie Kinsella):

Sleeping Arrangements

By Kathy Cano-Murillo:

Waking Up in the Land of Glitter: A Crafty Chica Novel
(August Book Club book!)

By Kathy Griffin:

Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin
(Yes, I already read this and told you to read it. But this was for my book club meeting in July – so it counts!)

About Blah Blah Blog Girl

I am a woman with lots to say. My brain provides continuous commentary on everything going on around me. And because my thoughts are so varied, no single person in my life wants to hear all of them. But I need to get them out of my head in hopes to slow down the spinning, the constant words, the blah blah blah.
This entry was posted in What I'm Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Summer Reading List

  1. Julie says:

    Everyone’s talking about Jen Lancaster. I guess I’ll have to jump on the bandwagon too.

  2. Pingback: When your vacation doesn’t go as expected | Blah Blah Blog Girl

Leave a Reply

